FAQ
Fête de la Musique Berlin – Frequently Asked Questions

General

  1. What is the “Fête de la Musique” and where does the idea come from?

The “Fête de la Musique” celebrates music worldwide on June 21 – the beginning of summer and the longest day of the year – and is open to anyone who wants to participate. All kinds of musicians – young and old, amateur and professional, any musical orientation and genres – take to the streets, squares and parks to share their music with friends, neighbors and strangers. All this free of charge and open to the public. Initiated in 1982 by then-French Culture Minister Jack Lang, the “Fête de la Musique” quickly spread from Paris and France beyond the country’s borders and is now celebrated in more than 1,000 cities in 120 countries. Berlin has been a part of it since 1995.

2. Is the “Fête de la Musique” a purely French festival?

No. Although the “Fête de la Musique” has a French name, it is not a music festival for exclusively French or French-speaking music or musicians and is therefore open to all styles – especially from the local music scene. Many cities from non-French-speaking countries translate the name into their own national language (Make Music Day, Festa della Musica). However, as a tribute to France, where the festival originated, the French title is usually retained as a globally unifying brand.

3. When does the “Fête de la Musique” take place?

The “Fête de la Musique” takes place worldwide annually at the calendrical beginning of summer on June 21. In Berlin, in the open air on streets, squares and parks until 10 pm and indoor further with the “Fête de la Nuit” – open end – in clubs, pubs, bars, venues. Of course, the events can also take place during the day indoors.

4. Does the “Fête de la Musique” charge admission?

No. According to the worldwide valid guidelines – the General Agreement – the visit is free of charge and open to the public. The “Fête de la Nuit” – indoors from 10 p.m. in clubs, pubs, bars, venues – also does not charge admission.

5. Where can I find the program for the “Fête de la Musique Berlin” and when will it be published?

The program will be published online on the website. Under the menu item “Program” you can filter by stage, genre, district and time. Likewise, the program will be available as a printed program booklet at various locations free of charge, e.g. at the participating music venues and in the displays of various institutions, pubs, cafés, etc.. Furthermore, a program newspaper will be produced with the street magazine Streem. The program will be published at the beginning of May.

6. Who is organizing the “Fête de la Musique Berlin”? Who are the participants?

There are three main participants. First of all, of course, the musicians. They either play at a fixed music venue (stage) or they roam the streets and spontaneously make music acoustically (street music). Secondly, the official venues (clubs, cafés, cultural centers, associations, initiatives, etc.), which are part of the official program and offer musicians a performance platform. The “Fête de la Musique Berlin” is organized and coordinated by the Musicboard Berlin on behalf of the Senate Department for Culture and Europe. Not to forget, of course, the many visitors and music lovers who make the festival a peaceful, cosmopolitan coexistence and unique musical event.

7. What happens when it rains all the time? Singin’ in the Rain…?

“It Never Rains in Southern California” – Maybe, but we are Berlin! One thing is certain: the “Fête de la Musique” will take place in any weather. So put on your weatherproof clothes and head out to the open air stages or to the clubs and established venues! All stage organizers are aware that the weather does not always cooperate and often have a rain option up their sleeve in the form of roofing, tents, umbrellas or indoors. Should individual stages be unable to take place, this will be announced online at short notice.

8. Who organizes the “Fête de la Musique Berlin”?

The “Fête de la Musique Berlin” is organized by the Musicboard Berlin on behalf of the Senate Department for Culture and Europe. The Musicboard is a state-owned limited liability company with the task of promoting Berlin’s pop culture. The organization and coordination is carried out by a small core team (curator, administration, coordination of stages & authorities) and an extended team (press, social media/IT, graphics). The tasks of the project team include event marketing, press and public relations, coordination of music venues, official approval procedure, GEMA licensing, organization and implementation of the kick-off event.

9. Who finances the “Fête de la Musique Berlin”? What are the costs for the organization and implementation?

The “Fête de la Musique Berlin” is an event of the state of Berlin. The funds for the organization and implementation are borne 100% by the public sector (budget – Senate Department for Culture and Europe). Most of the costs are for personnel, marketing, press and public relations, website/IT, graphic design, GEMA license fees, organization and implementation of the kick-off event.

10. How can I support a music venue / stage of the “Fête de la Musique Berlin”?

The music venues of the official program of the “Fête de la Musique” organize their stage independently within the framework of a cooperation agreement with the Musicboard Berlin. In this case, costs are incurred for the implementation of the event – especially for technology and logistics – which are borne by the respective cooperation partner. Possible means of covering costs are income from catering, sponsoring, an own marketing budget, association funds, or the like. Contrary to a widespread opinion, a stage at the “Fête de la Musique” does not usually make a profit and the organizers are usually happy if the costs are covered. Offers for sponsoring or support of any kind are very welcome and will be happily handed on to our stage partners. Otherwise the following applies:

Support your Fête-Venue, not the Späti (convenience store) around the corner!
…but then please support your local Späti on the other 364 days of the year! 🙂

For musicians

11. What possibilities are there to participate as a musician?

The easiest way to participate and follow the spirit of the “Fête de la Musique” is to pick up your instrument or oil your voice, go to the streets, squares or parks and present your skills. Here you can download permits for street musicians. For a performance on one of the stages of the official program you can register at the matchmaking tool, create a profile and get in contact with the stage organisers.

12. How to get to perform on a stage of the official program?

The Musicboard offers a matchmaking tool on the Fête website, where musicians can create a profile and get in contact with the program makers of the stages and music venues. It is also possible to contact an official music venue of the “Fête de la Musique” directly and offer a performance or request free slots.

13. Who decides if and at which music venue a performance will take place?

The stage organizers are responsible and free in their choice of musicians and genres. They ultimately make the decision as to which program and which artists they would like to present.

14. I have found a place where I want to perform. How will this music venue and my performance be included in the official program?

In order to be included in the official program of the “Fête de la Musique Berlin” it is necessary to find a responsible person who registers the location online via the participation form and is available as a cooperation partner. Whether a music venue can participate depends, among other things, on whether there is approval from the authorities. A performance that is planned as part of street music (e.g. in front of your local pub) can be registered informally by mail and will then be announced on the social media channels of FeteBerlin. Information about street music can be found here.

15. Do I have to bring my own equipment (backline, PA)? What does the music venue provide?

What is needed in terms of technology depends largely on the orientation of the music venue and the artists performing. An unplugged singer-songwriter program has different requirements than a line-up with electronic music. Should special equipment be necessary or desirable for the performance, this should be clarified in advance. For this reason, it is important to make clear arrangements with the respective stage organizers in advance.

16. Is street music generally allowed? What do I have to consider?

In principle, street music is allowed during the “Fête de la Musique”, as long as some rules are followed. For example, street music is not permitted in the immediate vicinity of hospitals, nursing homes, memorial sites and similar facilities. Your performance may last a maximum of 60 minutes (after which you may move on to another location). Instruments must be placed in such a way that the nearest residents are not directly exposed to sound (minimum distance 20 meters). Please refer to the guidelines for street music.

17. Why do the musicians not receive a fee for the performance?

The worldwide valid General Agreement regulates that music formations perform at the “Fête de la Musique” without fee and no entrance fee is charged. The basic idea of the “Fête de la Musique” is a free music festival that is open to everyone. A day to celebrate music, without commercial interests! The non-profit idea does not exclude income and explicitly aims to cover costs. This means that stage organizers may use revenues (from catering, third-party funds, etc.) to compensate musicians for expenses.

18. What is the added value of participating in a performance without a fee?

In addition to the fun and enjoyment of music, a large, music-loving audience and thus future fans can be reached at the “Fête de la Musique”. The musicians can also reach many people through social media and the coverage of the classic media. And in a very practical way, you can expand your network to promoters, bookers, other musicians, etc.

19. What does the Musicboard do in terms of promotion for the music acts?

In addition to the program flyer (5,000 copies) and the insert in the street magazine Streem (40,000 print copies and 27,000 readers online) with all the acts in the official program, the entire program is available online on the Fête website. Via social media (more than 40,000 followers on Facebook alone) and the blog on the website, selected music acts are presented with interviews, podcasts and videos. Through extensive press work, the “Fête de la Musique Berlin” program achieves diverse coverage in the classic media.

20. How does it work with GEMA?

The stage organizers undertake to collect the GEMA music forms from the musicians and to transmit them collectively to the Musicboard. The Musicboard takes care of the entire process with GEMA and also assumes any costs for licensing fees. On this basis, GEMA then distributes the royalties to the music authors.

For Music Locations / Organisers

21. How does a music venue become part of the official program?

If you would like to organize a stage as part of the “Fête de la Musique Berlin”, you can apply online via the participation form without obligation. The applications will be checked for feasibility and in a joint discussion we will discuss how a music venue can be made possible. The Musicboard reserves the right to cancel an application for various reasons. Reasons include, for example, no prospect of official approval for open-air venues, music venues in the immediate vicinity (within earshot), non-compliance with the General Agreement, the values of the “Fête de la Musique” or the Basic Law.

22. What kind of music locations are possible?

Indoor (clubs, cultural venues, etc.) and outdoor locations (private and public areas) are basically possible. However, the “Fête de la Musique” is a music festival which, according to the basic idea (General Agreement), should take place mainly outdoors and in the open air. A stage program after 10 p.m. can only take place indoors, in accordance with the official permits of the environmental authorities. All music venues must be barrier-free and accessible with free admission.

23. What should be considered when choosing a music venue?

In general, attention must be paid to noise protection. In addition to the general measures (e.g. sound direction, volume) to protect residents and neighbors, there are also facilities deemed worthy of protection (hospitals, nursing homes, memorials, etc.) that exclude use. All open air music venues require a permit from the environmental authorities, and in the case of public areas, a permit from the street and green space authorities (Grünflächenämter) is also required. Also, there should be no other stage within earshot. The size of the area or space should be sufficient so that the flow of visitors does not cause conflicts with passers-by and traffic routes (footpaths, cycle paths, roads) remain clear at all times.

24. I am planning a road closure at my music venue. What do I need to consider?

A road closure incurs high costs (fees, traffic sign plan, means of closure, security personnel, etc.) and means additional organizational effort. The authorities often refuse to close a road or impose strict conditions (especially if public transport lines are affected). For this reason, the Musicboard generally advises against road closures.

25. How can I make my music venue sustainable and climate-neutral?

There are many ways to make a music venue sustainable and climate neutral. Starting points can be: energy (use of green electricity), mobility (call for the use of public transport and bicycles, use of cargo bikes for logistics), resources (waste avoidance, reusable and deposit systems), catering (organic food, cooperation with regional suppliers), space (cleaning, measures to avoid soil compaction in green areas). For this purpose, the Musicboard offers recommendations for action and checklists, as well as workshops on the topic of “Greener Fête”.

26. What are the costs of organizing a music venue?

A blanket or even more precise numerical statement cannot be made here, as music venues can be very different. From a “music carpet” with an unplugged program, to a very large show with a covered festival stage, many things are imaginable. Possible costs arise primarily from technology and logistics (sound, lighting, stage), official permits (fees), insurance (organizer’s liability), sanitary facilities, security measures, waste disposal and cleaning, etc.. The personnel and organizational effort also uses up resources, depending on the scope of the planning.

Participation in itself – as a music venue within the framework of the “Fête de la Musique” – is not subject to a fee.

27. What permits do I need for a music venue?

If you want to use an area on a public street or green space for a music venue, you need a permit from the relevant district office. For this purpose, an informal application for special use of public street land according to the Berlin Street Law and for permission according to §29 StVO must be submitted. For the operation of catering stands, a permit (e.g. permission according to §12 GastG for the sale of alcoholic beverages) must be obtained from the responsible public order office. The permits must be applied for independently, no later than 9 weeks before the event. The fees are to be paid by the applicants.

The necessary permits from the environmental authorities according to §11 LImSchG Bln (for all open air music venues – private and public areas) will be obtained by the Musicboard from the relevant district offices. There are no costs involved.

28. Can I design my own stage program?

Yes, stage organizers are free to choose their own artists and genres. In the interest of the visitors, a certain length of the program or the number of performances should be taken into account and sufficient breaks should be planned for alterations. The Musicboard offers mediation of musicians via the matchmaking tool.

29. Can I sell food and drinks at my music venue?

Yes, the organizers of a music venue organize the catering themselves and obtain the necessary official permits on their own responsibility (e.g. permission according to §12 GastG for the sale of alcoholic beverages). The number of catering stands should be appropriate to the location and the expected number of visitors. However, as a music festival – unlike street festivals, for example – only a limited number of stands are usually permitted by the authorities as part of the “Fête de la Musique”. It is not advisable to operate a catering stand without official permission, as the public order offices carry out regular inspections.

30. Do I have to register my stage with GEMA and pay license fees?

No. The Musciboard takes care of the entire handling with the GEMA and also takes over the costs for the license fees. The organizers are only obliged to collect the GEMA music sequences of the musicians and to send them collectively to the Musicboard.

ATTENTION: Parallel TV broadcasting (TV, big screens) of soccer championships or other major events are not included.

FAQ
Fête de la Musique Berlin – Fragen und Antworten

Allgemein

  1. Was ist die „Fête de la Musique“ und woher kommt die Idee?

    Die „Fête de la Musique“ zelebriert weltweit am 21. Juni – Sommeranfang und längster Tag des Jahres – die Musik und ist offen für alle, die daran teilnehmen möchten. Jede Art von Musikern – jung und alt, Amateur und Profi, jegliche musikalische Ausrichtung und Genres – treten auf die Straßen, Plätze und Parks, um ihre Musik mit Freunden, Nachbarn und Fremden zu teilen. All dies kostenlos und öffentlich zugänglich. Initiiert 1982 vom damaligen französischen Kulturminister Jack Lang hat sich die „Fête de la Musique“ von Paris und Frankreich aus schnell über die Landesgrenzen hinaus verbreitet und wird heute in mehr als 1.000 Städten in 120 Ländern gefeiert. Berlin ist seit 1995 dabei.

  2. Ist die „Fête de la Musique“ ein rein französisches Fest?

    Nein. Die „Fête de la Musique“ trägt zwar einen französischen Namen, ist aber kein Musikfest für ausschließlich französische oder französischsprachige Musik bzw. Musizierende und somit offen für alle Stilrichtungen – vor allem aus der jeweils lokalen Musikszene. Viele Städte aus dem nicht-französischsprachigen Raum übersetzen den Namen in die eigene Landessprache (Make Music Day, Festa della Musica). Als Hommage an Frankreich, wo das Fest seinen Ursprung hat, wird der französische Titel jedoch meist als weltweit verbindende Marke beibehalten.

  3. Wann findet die „Fête de la Musique“ statt?

    Die „Fête de la Musique“ findet weltweit jährlich zum kalendarischen Sommeranfang am 21. Juni statt. In Berlin einheitlich open air auf Straßen, Plätzen und Parks bis 22 Uhr und Indoor weiter mit der „Fête de la Nuit“ – open end – in Clubs, Kneipen, Bars, Venues. Die Veranstaltungen können aber natürlich auch tagsüber in geschlossenen Räumen stattfinden

  4. Kostet die „Fête de la Musique“ Eintritt?

    Nein. Der Besuch ist laut den weltweit gültigen Richtlinien – dem General Agreement – kostenfrei und für alle öffentlich zugänglich. Auch die „Fête de la Nuit“ – Indoor ab 22 Uhr in Clubs, Kneipen, Bars, Venues – kostet keinen Eintritt.

  5. Wo finde ich das Programm für die „Fête de la Musique Berlin“ und wann wird es veröffentlicht?

    Das Programm wird online auf der Website veröffentlicht. Unter dem Menüpunkt „Programm“ kann nach Bühne, Genres, Bezirk und Uhrzeit gefiltert werden. Ebenfalls wird das Programm als gedrucktes Programmheft an verschiedenen Orten zur kostenlosen Mitnahme, z.B. bei den teilnehmenden Musikorten und in den Displays verschiedener Institutionen, Kneipen, Cafés, etc., ausliegen. Des Weiteren wird eine Programmzeitung mit dem Straßenmagazin Streem produziert. Das Programm wird Anfang Mai veröffentlicht.

  6. Wer gestaltet die „Fête de la Musique Berlin“? Wer sind die Beteiligten?

    Es gibt drei Hauptbeteiligte. Zunächst einmal natürlich die Musizierenden. Diese spielen entweder an einem festen Musikort (Bühne) oder aber sie ziehen durch die Straßen und musizieren spontan akustisch (Straßenmusik). Zum anderen die offiziellen Veranstaltungsorte (Clubs, Cafés, Kulturzentren, Vereine, Initiativen, u.v.m.), die Teil des offiziellen Programms sind und Musizierenden eine Auftrittsplattform bieten. Organisiert und koordiniert wird die „Fête de la Musique Berlin“ durch das Musicboard Berlin im Auftrag der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Nicht zu vergessen natürlich die vielen Besucher:innen und Musikliebhaber:innen, die das Fest zu einem friedlichen, weltoffenen Miteinander und einzigartigen, musikalischen Ereignis machen.

  7. Was passiert bei Dauerregen? Singin‘ in the Rain…?

    „It Never Rains in Southern California” – Maybe, aber wir sind Berlin! Fest steht: die „Fête de la Musique“ findet bei jedem Wetter statt. Also rein in die wetterfesten Klamotten und raus zu den Open Air-Bühnen oder in die Clubs und festen Häuser! Alle Bühnenmacher sind sich bewusst, dass das Wetter nicht immer mitspielt und haben häufig eine Regenvariante in Form von Überdachung, Zelten, Schirmen oder Indoor in petto. Sollten einzelne Bühnen partout nicht stattfinden können, wird dies kurzfristig online angekündigt.

  8. Wer organisiert die „Fête de la Musique Berlin“?

    Die „Fête de la Musique Berlin“ wird organisiert vom Musicboard Berlin im Auftrag der Senatsverwaltung Kultur und Europa. Das Musicboard ist eine landeseigene GmbH, mit der Aufgabe der Förderung der Popkultur Berlins. Umgesetzt werden die Organisation und Koordination von einem kleinen Kernteam (Kurator, Administration, Koordination Bühnen & Behörden) und erweitertem Team (Presse, Social Media/ IT, Grafik). Zu den Aufgaben des Projektteams zählen u.a. das Veranstaltungsmarketing, Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Koordinierung der Musikorte, behördliches Genehmigungsverfahren, GEMA-Lizensierung, Organisation und Durchführung der Auftaktveranstaltung.

  9. Wer finanziert die „Fête de la Musique Berlin“? Was fallen für Kosten für die Organisation und Durchführung an?

    Die „Fête de la Musique Berlin“ ist eine Veranstaltung des Landes Berlin. Die Mittel für die Organisation und Durchführung werden zu 100% von der öffentlichen Hand getragen (Haushaltsplan – Senatsverwaltung Kultur und Europa). Kosten fallen größtenteils an für Personal, Marketing, Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Website/ IT, Grafikdesign, GEMA-Lizenzgebühren, Organisation und Durchführung der Auftaktveranstaltung.

  10. Wie kann ich einen Musikort/ eine Bühne der „Fête de la Musique Berlin“ unterstützen?

    Die Musikorte des offiziellen Programms der „Fête de la Musique“ organisieren ihre Bühne im Rahmen eines Kooperationsvertrages mit dem Musicboard Berlin eigenständig und unabhängig. Hierbei fallen für die Durchführung der Veranstaltung Kosten – vor allem für Technik und Logistik – an, die der jeweilige Kooperationspartner trägt. Mögliche Mittel zur Kostendeckung sind Einnahmen durch Gastronomie, Sponsoring, ein eigenes Marketingbudget, Vereinsmittel, o.ä. Entgegen einer weit verbreiteten Meinung erzielt eine Bühne bei der „Fête de la Musique“ für gewöhnlich keine Gewinne und die Macher sind in der Regel froh, wenn die Kosten gedeckt sind. Angebote für ein Sponsoring oder eine Unterstützung jeglicher Art sind sehr willkommen und werden gern auch an Bühnenpartner:innen vermittelt. Ansonsten gilt:

    Support your Fête-Venue, not the Späti around the corner!
    …die dann gern den Rest des Jahres 🙂

Für Musiker:innen

  1. Welche Möglichkeiten gibt es als Musiker:in teilzunehmen?

    Die einfachste Möglichkeit teilzunehmen und dem Spirit der „Fête de la Musique“ zu folgen, ist sein Instrument zu greifen bzw. die Stimme zu ölen, auf die Straßen, Plätze oder Parks zu gehen und sein können zu präsentieren. Hier kannst Du Dir Genehmigungen für StraßenmusikerInnen herunterladen. Für einen Auftritt auf einer der Bühnen des offiziellen Programms kannst Du Dich beim Matchmaking-Tool anmelden, ein Profil anlegen und mit den Bühnenmacher:innen in Kontakt treten.

  2. Wie kommt man zu einem Auftritt auf einer Bühne des offiziellen Programms?

    Das Musicboard bietet auf der Fête-Website ein Matchmaking-Tool an, wo sich Musiker:innen ein Profil anlegen können und so mit den Programm-Macher:innen der Bühnen und Musikorte in Kontakt treten können. Es ist auch möglich einen offiziellen Musikort der „Fête de la Musique“ direkt zu kontaktieren und einen Auftritt anzubieten bzw. freie Slots anzufragen.

  3. Wer entscheidet ob und an welchem Musikort ein Auftritt stattfindet?

    Die Bühnenveranstalter:innen sind eigenverantwortlich und frei in der Auswahl der Musiker:innen und der Genres. Sie treffen letztlich die Entscheidung, welches Programm und welche Künstler:innen sie präsentieren möchten.

  4. Ich habe einen Ort gefunden, an dem ich auftreten will. Wie wird dieser als Musikort und mein Auftritt mit in das offizielle Programm aufgenommen?

    Für eine Aufnahme in das offizielle Programm der „Fête de la Musique Berlin“ ist es nötig, dass ein/e Verantwortliche/r gefunden wird, die oder der die Location online via Teilnahme-Formular anmeldet und als Kooperationspartner:in zur Verfügung steht. Ob ein Musikort teilnehmen kann, hängt u.a. davon ab, ob eine Aussicht auf Genehmigung seitens der Behörden besteht. Ein Auftritt, der im Rahmen von Straßenmusik geplant ist (z.B. vor der Stammkneipe), kann formlos per Mail gemeldet werden und wird dann auf den Social-Media-Kanälen der FeteBerlin angekündigt. Infos zur Straßenmusik findest Du hier.

  5. Muss ich eigene Technik (Backline, PA) mitbringen? Was stellt der Musikort?

    Was an Technik benötigt wird, hängt stark von der Ausrichtung des Musikortes und den auftretenden Künstler:innen ab. Ein unplugged-Singer Songwriter-Programm hat andere Anforderungen, als ein Line-up mit elektronischer Musik. Sollte spezielles Equipment für den Auftritt nötig oder gewünscht sein, sollte dies vorab geklärt werden. Aus diesem Grund ist es wichtig im Vorfeld klare Absprachen mit den jeweiligen Bühnenveranstalter:innen zu treffen.

  6. Ist Straßenmusik generell erlaubt? Was muss ich beachten?

    Grundsätzlich ist Straßenmusik im Rahmen der „Fête de la Musique“ erlaubt, sofern man sich an einige Regeln hält. Nicht erlaubt ist Straßenmusik beispielsweise in unmittelbarer Nähe von Krankenhäusern, Pflegeheimen, Gedenkstätten und ähnlichen schutzwürdigen Einrichtungen. Euer Auftritt darf maximal 60 Minuten dauern (danach könnt/ müsst ihr an einen anderen Ort weiterziehen). Instrumente sind so zu platzieren, dass die nächstgelegenen Anwohner nicht direkt beschallt werden (Mindestabstand 20 Meter). Hierzu bitte den Leitfaden für Straßenmusik beachten.

  7. Warum bekommen die Musiker:innen kein Honorar für den Auftritt?

    Das weltweit geltende General Agreement regelt, dass Musikformationen zur „Fête de la Musique“ ohne Honorar auftreten und kein Eintritt verlangt wird. Die Grundidee der „Fête de la Musique“ ist ein kostenloses Musikfest, welches für jeden frei zugänglich ist. Ein Tag, an dem die Musik gefeiert wird, ohne kommerzielle Interessen! Der Non-Profit-Gedanke schließt Einnahmen nicht aus und strebt ausdrücklich eine Kostendeckung ein. Das heißt, dass Bühnenveranstalter:innen ggf. Umsätze (aus Gastronomie, Drittmitteln, etc.) für Aufwandsentschädigungen an Musiker:innen verwenden können.

  8. Was ist, bei einem Auftritt ohne Gage, der Mehrwert einer Teilnahme?

    Neben dem Spaß und der Freude an der Musik können bei der „Fête de la Musique“ ein großes, musikbegeistertes Publikum und somit zukünftige Fans erreicht werden. Auch durch Social Media und die Berichterstattung der klassischen Medien erreichen die Musiker:innen viele Menschen. Und ganz praktisch kann man sein Netzwerk zu Veranstalter:innen, Booker:innen, anderen Musiker:innen, etc. erweitern.
  9. Was macht das Musicboard an Promotion für die Musik-Acts?

    Neben dem Programmflyer (5.000 Exemplare) und der Beilage im Straßenmagazin Streem (40.000 Print-Exemplare und 27.000 Leser:innen online) mit allen Acts des offiziellen Programms, ist das gesamte Programm online auf der Fête-Website verfügbar. Via Social Media (allein bei Facebook mehr als 40.000 Follower) und dem Blog auf der Website werden ausgewählte Musik-Acts mit Interviews, Podcasts und Videos vorgestellt. Durch umfangreiche Pressearbeit erreicht das Programm der „Fête de la Musique Berlin“ vielfältige Berichterstattung in den klassischen Medien.

  10. Wie funktioniert das mit der GEMA?

    Die Bühnenveranstalter:innen verpflichten sich dazu, die GEMA-Musikfolgen der Musiker:innen einzuholen und gesammelt an das Musicboard zu übermitteln. Das Musicboard kümmert sich um die gesamte Abwicklung mit der GEMA und übernimmt auch die Kosten für die Lizenzen-Gebühren. Auf dieser Basis erfolgt dann die Ausschüttung der Tantiemen an die Musikurheber:innen durch die GEMA.

Für Musikorte

  1. Wie wird man als Musikort Teil des offiziellen Programms?

    Wer eine Bühne im Rahmen der „Fête de la Musique Berlin“ organisieren möchte, kann sich online via Teilnahmeformular unverbindlich anmelden. Die Bewerbungen werden hinsichtlich der Machbarkeit geprüft und im gemeinsamen Gespräch wird beraten, wie ein Musikort möglich gemacht werden kann. Das Musicboard behält sich aus verschiedenen Gründen eine Absage vor. Gründe hierfür sind z.B. keine Aussicht auf behördliche Genehmigung bei Open Air-Standorten, Musikorte in unmittelbarer Umgebung (Hörweite), keine Übereinstimmung mit dem General Agreement, den Werten der „Fête de la Musique” oder dem Grundgesetz.

  2. Was für Musikorte sind möglich?

    Möglich sind grundsätzlich Indoor- (Clubs, Kulturstätten, etc.) und Outdoor- Locations (private und öffentliche Flächen). Die „Fête de la Musique“ ist allerdings ein Musikfest, welches entsprechend der Grundidee (General Agreement), überwiegend draußen und unter freiem Himmel stattfinden sollte. Ein Bühnenprogramm nach 22 Uhr kann, entsprechend der behördlichen Genehmigungen der Umweltämter, ausschließlich Indoor stattfinden. Alle Musikorte müssen barrierefrei und bei freiem Eintritt zugänglich sein.

  3. Was ist bei der Wahl eines Musikortes zu beachten?

    Generell ist auf den Lärmschutz zu achten, wobei es neben den allgemeinen Maßnahmen (z.B. Schallrichtung, Lautstärke) zum Schutz von Anwohnern und Anrainern auch schutzwürdige Einrichtungen (Krankenhäuser, Pflegeheime, Gedenkstätten, o.ä.) gibt, die eine Nutzung ausschließen. Alle Open Air-Musikorte benötigen eine Genehmigung der Umweltämter, bei öffentlichen Flächen ist zudem eine Genehmigung der Straßen- und Grünflächenämter nötig. Auch sollte sich keine andere Bühne in Hörweite befinden. Die Größe der Fläche oder des Raumes sollte ausreichend bemessen sein, so dass es durch den Besucherstrom nicht zu Konflikten mit Passanten kommt und Verkehrswege (Fuß- und Radweg, Straßen) jederzeit frei bleiben.

  4. Ich plane an meinem Musikort eine Straßensperrung. Was ist zu beachten?

    Eine Straßensperrung verursacht hohe Kosten (Gebühren, Verkehrszeichenplan, Sperrmittel, Sicherheitspersonal, etc.) und bedeutet einen zusätzlichen organisatorischen Aufwand. Häufig wird die Sperrung einer Straße seitens der Behörden abgelehnt bzw. mit hohen Auflagen belegt (insbesondere, wenn Linien des ÖPNV betroffen sind). Aus diesem Grund rät das Musicboard in der Regel von einer Straßensperrung ab.
  5. Wie kann ich meinen Musikort nachhaltig und klimaneutral gestalten?

    Es gibt vielfältige Möglichkeiten, einen Musikort nachhaltig und klimaneutral zu gestalten. Ansatzpunkte können sein: Energie (Verwendung von Ökostrom), Mobilität (Aufruf zur Nutzung des ÖPNV und Fahrrad, verwenden von Lastenrädern für die Logistik), Ressourcen (Abfallvermeidung, Mehrweg- und Pfandsysteme), Catering (Bio-Lebensmittel, Kooperation mit regionalen Anbietern), Fläche (Reinigung, Maßnahmen zur Vermeidung von Bodenverdichtung bei Grünflächen). Hierzu bietet das Musicboard Handlungsempfehlungen und Checklisten, sowie Workshops zum Thema „Greener Fête“, an.

  6. Welche Kosten entstehen bei der Organisation eines Musikortes?

    Eine pauschale oder gar zahlenmäßige Aussage kann hier nicht getroffen werden, da Musikorte sehr unterschiedlich sein können. Von einem „Musikteppich“ mit unplugged-Programm, bis zur ganz großen Show mit überdachter Festivalbühne ist vieles denkbar. Mögliche Kosten entstehen in erster Linie durch Technik und Logistik (Ton, Licht, Bühne), behördliche Genehmigungen (Gebühren), Versicherungen (Veranstalterhaftpflicht), sanitäre Einrichtungen, Sicherheitsmaßnahmen, Abfallbeseitigung und Reinigung, etc. Auch der personelle und organisatorische Aufwand bindet, entsprechend des Umfangs der Planungen, Ressourcen.

    Eine Teilnahme an sich – als Musikort im Rahmen der „Fête de la Musique“ – ist nicht kostenpflichtig.

  7. Welche Genehmigungen benötigte ich für einen Musikort?

    Wer für einen Musikort eine Fläche auf öffentlichem Straßenland oder Grünfläche nutzen will, benötigt hierfür eine Genehmigung des zuständigen Bezirksamtes. Dazu ist ein formloser Antrag auf Sondernutzung öffentlichen Straßenlandes nach dem Berliner Straßengesetz und auf Erlaubnis nach §29 StVO zu stellen. Für das Betreiben von Gastronomieständen ist eine Genehmigung (z.B. Gestattung gem. §12 GastG für den Verkauf von alkoholischen Getränken) beim zuständigen Ordnungsamt einzuholen. Die Genehmigungen müssen eigenständig, bis spätestens 9 Wochen vor Veranstaltung, beantragt werden. Die anfallenden Gebühren tragen die Antragsteller:innen.

    Die nötigen Genehmigungen der Umweltämter gem. §11 LImSchG Bln (für alle Open Air-Musikorte – private und öffentliche Flächen) holt das Musicboard bei den zuständigen Bezirksämtern ein. Hierfür fallen keine Kosten an.

  8. Kann ich mein Bühnenprogramm selbst gestalten?

    Ja. Bühnenveranstalter:innen sind eigenverantwortlich und frei in der Auswahl der Künstler:innen und der Genres. Im Sinne der Besucher sollte auf eine gewisse Länge des Programms bzw. die Anzahl von Auftritten geachtet werden und ausreichende Pausen für Umbauten eingeplant werden, das Musicboard bietet eine Vermittlung von Musikern über das Matchmaking-Tool an.

  9. Darf ich an meinem Musikort Essen und Getränke verkaufen?

    Ja. Die Veranstalter:innen eines Musikortes organisieren die gastronomische Versorgung selbst und holen die dafür nötigen behördlichen Genehmigungen eigenverantwortlich ein (u.a. Gestattung gem. §12 GastG für den Verkauf von alkoholischen Getränken). Die Anzahl der Gastronomiestände sollte dem Standort und der zu erwartenden Besucherzahl angemessen sein. Als Musikfest – anders als beispielsweise bei Straßenfesten – werden im Rahmen der „Fête de la Musique“ allerdings in der Regel auch nur begrenzt viele Stände von den Behörden erlaubt. Einen Gastronomiestand ohne behördliche Genehmigung zu betreiben ist nicht ratsam, denn die Ordnungsämter führen regelmäßig Überprüfungen durch.

  10. Muss ich meine Bühne bei der GEMA anmelden und Lizenzgebühren zahlen?

    Nein. Das Musciboard kümmert sich um die gesamte Abwicklung mit der GEMA und übernimmt auch die Kosten für die Lizenzen-Gebühren. Die Veranstalter:innen verpflichten sich lediglich dazu, die GEMA-Musikfolgen der Musiker:innen einzuholen und gesammelt an das Musicboard zu übermitteln.

    ACHTUNG! Die parallele TV-Übertragung (Fernseher, Großleinwände) von Fußball-Meisterschaften oder anderen Großereignissen sind nicht enthalten.